Switchfoot, Enya, Ying Yang Twins, Lordi


Switchfoot is an American alternative rock band formed in San Diego, California in 1995. The band’s members are Jon Foreman on vocals & guitar, Tim Foreman on bass guitar, Chad Butler on drums, Jerome Fontamillas on guitar & keyboards, and Drew Shirley on guitar. Their debut album was The Legend of Chin released in 1997. They followed it up with their sophoore album, New Way to Be Human. Then in 2000, Switchfoot released their third album, Learning to Breathe. This album received a Grammy nomination for Best Rock Gospel Album in 2001, mainly because of the band’s affiliation with a CCM label, not because of the band’s musical genre. Switchfoot first gained mainstream recognition after the inclusion of four of their songs in the 2002 movie A Walk to Remember. This recognition led to their major label debut, The Beautiful Letdown, which was released in 2003. It went on to sell over 2.6 million copies and produced the band’s best-known singles, “Meant to Live” and “Dare You to Move”. Switchfoot has since released three more albums which include Nothing Is Sound in 2005, Oh! Gravity in 2006 and Hello Hurricane in 2009. In 2008, Switchfoot also got involved in the musical movement to spread awareness about 21st century slavery and human trafficking, performing “Awakening” for the documentary film Call + Response.


Enya is the stage name of Eithne Patricia NĂ­ Bhraonain. She was born on May 17, 1961 in Gweedore, County Donegal, Ireland. She began her musical career in 1980, when she briefly joined her family band Clannad, before leaving to pursue her solo career. In 1987 she released her self titled debut album. It spawned the singles “Aldebaran”, “Epona” and “Boadicea”. In 1988, Enya released her sophomore album, Watermark. The album featured her first major hit, “Orinoco Flow”. Watermark is considered Enya’s breakthrough album release. Enya then released her third album, Shepherd Moons. It won the Grammy Award for “Best New Age Album” of 1993. It was a #1 album in the UK and a Top 20 hit in the US, peaking at #17 on the Billboard 200. The album was a major success and sold 12 million copies worldwide. Enya has since gone on to release six more studio albums. Enya has sold over 75 million albums worldwide and her work has earned her, among other things, an Academy Award nomination and she is known for performing in 10 different languages during her career thus far. She was also named the world’s biggest selling female artist of 2001.

Ying Yang Twins

The Ying Yang Twins are an Atlanta-based American crunk rap duo consisting of Kaine and D-Roc. The group was formed in 1998 in Atlanta, Georgia. Ying Yang Twins debuted in 2000 with the single “Whistle While You Twurk”, which was played on urban and pop radio stations and peaked at #16 on the US R&B/Hip-Hop chart. They grew even more famous when they toured with Juz tha King, Kat Nu and Demo Dil on the tour called King Me. Their full-length debut album, Thug Walkin’, came out later that year. In 2002, they released their sophomore album, Alley: The Return of the Ying Yang Twins. The same year, the group appeared on the album Kings of Crunk by Lil Jon on the single “Get Low”. The song was a huge club and radio hit, and the duo subsequently signed a deal with TVT Records. They then released their third album, Me & My Brother. This album features their biggest hit, the Lil Jon-assisted “Salt Shaker”, which reached #9 on the Hot 100. The Ying Yang Twins have since produced two more studio album which include Chemically Imbalanced in 2006 and Ying Yang Forever in 2009.


Lordi is a hard rock & heavy metal band from Rovaniemi, Finland formed in 1996. It features the members Mr. Lordi, Amen, Ox, Awa and Kita. Lordi was signed by the BMG Finland recording company and in 2002 their first single, “Would You Love A Monsterman?” became a smash hit and not long after that, their first album, Get Heavy, sold 66,000 copies in Finland. Lordi then released their sophomore album in 2004 entitled The Monsterican Dream. It was Lordi’s worst selling album to date. Undeterred they headed back to the studio, and in 2006 they released The Arockalypse. The album has sold triple platinum in Finland and gold in Sweden and Germany. On October 29, 2008 they released Deadache. The first single from the album, “Bite It Like a Bulldog” was released on September 3, 2008. Lordi was featured on the 2006 MTV Europe Music Awards in Copenhagen when Mr. Lordi presented the award for rock, and they were also the closing act playing their single Hard Rock Hallelujah. They also performed on Britain’s Making Your Mind Up for the Eurovision Song Contest. Lordi performed on the main stage at Ozzfest 2007 and later that year toured with Type O Negative and Twin Method until Halloween night.